Geology header
Home | Maps & Publications | Hazards | Permits | Dept Info | Contact Us | Links | Search

Fossils, Minerals & Gems | Field Offices | News and Events
Mineral Land Regulation and Reclamation | Oil, Gas and Geothermal
Nature of the Northwest Information Center | State of Oregon website
Job listings from the State of Oregon jobs page
Portland icon

Lidar Collection and Mapping


CONTACT US

For more information, contact:
Ian Madin, Chief Scientist,
Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries
800 NE Oregon St. #28 Suite 965
Portland, OR 97232
(971) 673-1542
Ian.Madin@state.or.us

The Portland Lidar Consortium comprises numerous state, Federal, and local government agencies (see list below) that are working together to obtain light detection and ranging (lidar) data over portions of Clatsop, Tillamook, Washington, Clackamas, Multnomah, Hood River, Marion, and Yamhill counties in Northwestern Oregon (see figure below). The Consortium is coordinated by the Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries at the request of the U.S. Geological Survey and is working through the Puget Sound Lidar Consortium (PSLC), which has a standing contract with a lidar acquisition vendor (Watershed Sciences Inc.). The Oregon Department of Forestry is running a companion survey through PSLC.

Portland Lidar Consortium Participating Agencies

Participant Contrib. Contact Phone Email
USGS Urban Corridor $83,350 Ray Wells 650-329-4933   rwells@usgs.gov
USGS Landslide $74,000 Jeff Coe 303 273-8606 jcoe@usgs.gov
USGS NEHRP $100,000 Craig Weaver 206-553-0627 craig@ess.washington.edu
METRO $203,925 Richard Bolen 503-797-1582 bolend@metro.dst.or.us
USFS Cloyd $5,700 Courtney Cloyd 503-808-2705 jcloyd@fs.fed.us
USFS Golden $5,000 Michael Golden 503-808-2324 mdgolden@fs.fed.us
City of Silverton $5,225 Sue DeVore 503-874-2211 sdevore@silverton.or.us
City of Hood River $2,090 Dave Bick 541-387-5200 daveb@ci.hood-river.or.us
Hood River County $36,053 Mike Schrankel 541-387-7104 mike.schrankel@co.hood-river.or.us
Oregon Department of Transportation $58,000 Paul Wirfs 503-986-3526 Paul.R.Wirfs@state.or.us
US Bureau of Land Management $5,700 Susan Nelson 503-808-6139 Susan_Nelson@or.blm.gov
Oregon Department of Transportation Region 1 $9,000 Thomas Picco 503-731-8230 thomas.j.picco@odot.state.or.us
City of Canby $3,658 John R. Williams 503-266-7001 williamsj@ci.canby.or.us
USGS NGA $200,000 Nancy Tubbs 503-251-3210 ntubbs@usgs.gov
Port of Portland $3,800 Thomas Priebe 503-460-4547 Andy.Priebe@portofportland.com
Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries Coordinator   Ian Madin 971-673-1542 ian.madin@state.or.us
Total $795,501      

aerial extents of LIDAR surveys by Portland LIDAR Consortium, Oregon Department of Forestry, and other existing LIDAR surveys
2006-2007 Portland LIDAR Consortium Survey in green, companion ODF survey yellow, existing data blue.

Detailed Survey Area Map for the Portland Lidar Consortium 2007 Survey (356 PDF)
Survey Statement of Work with Specifications (393 KB PDF)
Current Status of the Survey (May 27, 2009) (461 KB PDF)


Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 965, Portland, OR 97232-2162
(971) 673-1555, FAX (971) 673-1562
email us at DOGAMI

State of Oregon home Department of Geology and Mineral Industries home Nature of the Northwest icon
Your best source for outdoor recreation and natural resource information, plus the largest selection of maps in the Northwest.